Happiest Year Ever 2018

I will admit, 2017 was one of my best years. I had a lot of company , and got to go to California to spend quality time with my son and his family and saw my sister. Although, she was sedated and intubated at the time. She has had some serious health issues and unfortunately  had to be hospitalized just a day and half before I got to see her. But I’m still happy I got to see her. 

2018 is open to possibilities.  I’m excited about that. I’ve decided I needed to make a Bucket List along side of my Resolutions. 

Since I just had a Christmas party, I will not be hosting a New Years Party. The older you get, you find that it doesn’t hold the same appeal. However ; for those who are having a party here are some ideas I would like to share. 

1) If you haven’t invited anyone, it’s best to call them NOW. You don’t need a lot of people to have fun, but the more the merrier.

2) Since your party is supposed to last until midnight, I would start it later. 7:30 or 8:00 . That way, your guests have already eaten dinner and you can serve lighter choices. Appetizers such as cheese and crackers, dips & chips, I generally do what I call friendships which is similar to a pinwheel. I will give you recipe at end. Plenty of sweets too.

3) Alcohol is the most expensive item, so you can certainly ask your guests to bring a bottle, you can purchase some pretty decent wines at Aldi’s or wholesale clubs. I like Beringers which isn’t expensive and tasty. Or St James Wine. 

4) Decor is important, hopefully, you’ve either put away your Christmas decor or added New Years to it. Personally, I am out with the old and in with the new so it’s gone. Color is certainly open to your choices. Gold and Black are beautiful and I like some sparkle .

Here’s a pretty table covering. If you can’t find a tablecloth, buy some material. Add candles and a pretty floral arrangement. Don’t forget about aroma too. Nothing too strong but nice. 

Here are some food display ideas too. 

5) Don’t forget music, whether there will be dancing or just having music in the background, you want to keep the mood festive and upbeat. 

6) Of course you need a photo booth or at least an area where people can get their selfie on Instagram. 

This idea is very simple, it can be done on a wall or even a hallway. Use command strips and hang twine or ribbon, then add either paper, fabric of your color scheme. I would also add in Christmas twinkle lights hanging vertically. You can find free printablesor add your own props such as party hats, glasses, boas, etc.

7) I  believe the stage is set before your guests even enter your front door. If you live in a house, you can add these decorations to your front door. 

If you live in apartment, decorate your front exterior door. 

8) Feel free to add party games to your event. It’s a great ice breaker.  Use oversize White board or chalkboard for Pictionary, or do themed charades. 

9) Be careful with your friends and drinking. Make sure they are eating enough to absorb some of the alcohol. You may want to take keys away at the beginning sort of as a joke. Whatever you do, do not let your friends drive under the influence. 

8) Have fun. 

Recipe for friendships.

Ingredients

Burrito sized tortillas

Lettuce

Olives both green and Black

Tomatoes 

Deli meats such as ham, Turkey and or roast beef

Ranch dressing

DIRECTIONS

Microwave tortilla for 10 seconds on microwavable plate.

Add ranch dressing to one side  of tortilla, layer the rest of ingredients, I usually have meat sliced thin and add one slice each but you can certainly add more. 

Fold outside edges in then roll inward tightly. Slice about 1 1/2 ” each. You can even spell out words or just let them rest. 

You can make these for sandwiches too. 

HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM MY FAMILY TO YOURS!!!

Leave a comment